Skip to content Skip to navigation

BJP win Lakhimpur, Boithalangsu

Ruling BJP in Assam won both the Lakhimpur Lok Sabha seat and the Boithalangsu assembly by polls defeating the nearest Congress candidates.
In Lakhimpur Lok Sabha by polls BJP candidate Pradan Baruah won the seat earlier held by Sarbananda Sonowal defeating his nearest rival Congress candidate Dr Hem Hari Pegu by a huge margin.
In Boithalangsu assembly by polls, BJP candidate Dr Mansingh Rongpi won the seat defeating the Congress candidate. Rongpi won the seat in the last assembly polls as Congress ticket. But then he resigned and joined BJP paving the way for by polls.
Over 66 percent polling was recorded in Lakhimpur Lok Sabha seat while over 74 percent votes were polled in Baithalangso on November 19.

Author info

AT News's picture

Assam Times Staff

Add new comment


Republish this content

Barpeta district administration is ready for poll

10 Apr 2011 - 1:47am | Juthika Das

Barpeta district administration is ready for the 2nd phase of Assam assembly Election 2011. All the arrangements are ready for the poll. The vote cast will be held in 1132 polling centres in the 6 LACs of the Barpeta sub-division. In this regard some of the presiding officers and polling officers of Chenga and Baghbar LACs has already despacted to their respective centres with the EVM voting machines and other materials for the poll as the place is far from the town and remotest place. Mentionable that there are 150 and 153 polling stations in Chenga and Baghbar LAC respectively under Barpeta sub-division. On the other hand for Sarbhog, Barpeta, Jania and Sarukshetry LACs the polling and presiding officers will be started on April 10 along with the security guards.

Awareness Programme on Soil Testing Organized by KVK, Nagaon

23 Jun 2011 - 9:37pm | tpsaikia

The Krishi Vigyan Kendra (KVK), Nagaon in collaboration with IFFCO organized an awareness programme on Soil Testing on the 23rd June, 2011 at Bhelai Deuri village of Nonoi, Nagaon for the participating farmers of the Technology Showcasing programme of the Assam Agricultural University.

The camp was formally inaugurated by Dr. T. P. Saikia, Programme Coordinator of KVK, Nagaon. In his inaugural speech, Dr.Saikia elaborately described the importance of soil testing for sustainable crop production and for maintaining the soil health. He also informed the house that KVK, Nagaon is always at the service of farmers through its various transfer of technology activities. It may be mentioned here that, a total of 100 hectares(750 bighas) of land under five villages of the district are covered under Showcasing Programme of the AAU where participatory certified seed production of rice variety “Ranjit” are being carried out during the current Sali season.

At the very outset, Kalyan Bora, VLEW, Nonoi narrated the objective of the programme and offered his sincere thanks to KVK and IFFCO for conducting the awareness programme in their localit. Ranjit Mishra Bhagawati, Agricultural Development Officer, Nagaon also spoke on the occasion. Anuj Kataky, Field Officer of IFFCO explained the importance of organizing the awareness programme and various R & D activities of IFFCO. Anjumala Deka, SMS of the KVK described the procedures for soil sample collection and demonstrated step by step analysis of major soil nutrients and pH before the participating farmers. IFFCO also distributed seeds of Dhaincha(Sesbania aculeata), a popular green manuring crop to the farmers. A total of 50 farmers of Solmari and Bhelai Deuri villages attended the programme which ended with offering of vote of thanks by C K Deka, SMS of KVK.

Prof. H C Verma of IIT-K Lecture at Techniche08

8 Sep 2008 - 4:44am | Nanda Kirati Dewan
Who wasn't the part of a grand celebration that this years edition of Techniche08 - from scientists of NASA to archeologists from France, everyone added a new flavor to the extravagant techno-management festival. But day-3 took Techniche to a different level all together when the mentor of all IIT'ians, Professor Harish Chandra Verma came to meet his (virtual) students. Professor H.C.Verma joined the department of physics in 1994 at IIT-Kanpur and has rendered his services to the institute since then.

He started his speech by classifying it into two main divisions- the situation of science and technology in India and simple experiments to learn physics, but when the session ended everyone realized that his motive was neither to crib about India's research progress nor was he there to clear doubts of physics but the main thing that he wanted to convey to the audience-especially students was -- the need to develop an urge to ask questions in young generation rather than just answering all the traditional questions.

His lecture was a true copy of thoughts of an average student who wants to innovate but is handcuffed by the educational system in India which according to him is totally unnatural. He believes in learning from environment and says that teacher can't teach but can only create an environment for students from learn by themselves. But unfortunately the educational system in India, he admits, suppresses the spirit of innovation and experimentation. This is the very reason that he thinks is stopping brilliant students from entering areas of research in India- a place which has been a home to Aryabhatta's astronomy way back in early BC's to Chandrayan-1, the moon mission of India to be launched late this year.

Then came the round of simple experiments dealing with scary topics like fluids, rotation, electricity etc. which made them look so simple. But again this was his secondary motive, the main aim behind a series of 11 experiments was achieved during the 7th experiment when the first hand was raised to ask a question, which initiated a round of thoughts and ideas among all the students sitting there. Prof. H.C. Verma was clearly successful in igniting a spark of curiosity among students to ask questions and restart learning from environment-a habit everyone had forgotten the day they entered the school premises in the atmosphere of forced learning.

Professor H.C.Verma is currently working on nano-crystalline magnetic materials and alloys systems. He is also working on a book electrodynamics.