Skip to content Skip to navigation

AKRSU(H) burns effigy of PM Modi

The activists of Hiteswar Barman led All Koch Rajbanshi Students’ Union (AKRSU) Tangla Anchalik committtee reiterating its demand for a separate Kamatapur state and ST status blocked T.B Road and burnt effigies of PM Modi ,Home Minister Rajnath Singh and Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal in front of Central Bank of India Tangla branch on Saturday. The activists raising slogans rented the air with 'No ST no rest'

'We want Kamatapur' 'ST is our birthright'. The students body leaders while slamming the saffron party said that the party has come to power assuring to resolve our issues.

President of Udalguri district committee AKRSU Dibyojyoti Deka said that BJP through its daily dillying tactics have been postponing the burning issue of Koch-Rajbongshi people.

“We demand creation of our historic Kamatapur state for securing the poltical and social rights of the Koch-Rajbongshi community ,” said Hemanta Borah Assistant General Secretary of Udalguri district committee .

"The Koch Rajbanshi community will intensify movements and resort to violent means if our voices are ignored." Borah added.

Author info

Shajid Khan's picture

Recipient of The Annual Colosseum Awards 2014 & 2015 (by The Assam Tribune group), Shajid Khan is a journalist based in Tangla.In his stint of journalistic experience he has contributed numerous political, socio-political stories for bountiful national,international as well as Assam based publications. He also pens down analytic commentary on print and web based publications.

Add new comment


Republish this content

More Stories

Varsity week ends in Kokrajhar

24 Feb 2018 - 8:49pm | AT News
Kokrajhar,Feb 24:A colourful cultural procession carried out in connection with the closing day of the 18th Varsity Week celebration of the Bodoland University  struck overwhelming attention at...

Zeliang allocates portfolios

27 Jul 2017 - 12:08am | AT News Dimapur
The new Nagaland Chief Minister TR Zeliang has announced portfolios for 11 new cabinet minister and also appointed 26  Parliamentary Secretaries on Wednesday. 1. Shri T.R. Zeliang: Chief...

Shurhozelie to take oath on Wednesday

21 Feb 2017 - 10:11am | AT News
Shurhozelie Liezietsu is taking oath as Nagaland Chief Minister on Wednesday two days after the Naga Peoples’ Front legislators elected the party president as their legislative body chief....