Skip to content Skip to navigation

2 held in Chirang

Kokrajhar: Security forces apprehended two youths who were allegedly involved in arms dealing from Basugaon area in Chirang district on Sunday morning.

Based on an inputs about movement of youths,security forces belonging to Assam police and 15 Garhwal Riffles of Indian Army, have carried out a search operation along the Basugaon area in

Chirang police apprehended the  two youths who were moving towards Basugaon town.

The arrested duo were identified as Parman Ali and Mafizul Islam of Mozabari under Sidli Police Station in Chirang district.

A country made pistol, five rounds of  live ammunitions and cash Rs.55,000/- were  recovered from their possession.

Parman is a known criminal and was earlier arrested in connection with kidnapped case in the area.

The arrested persons got the arms from a person at Ranchaidham area and were bringing them to Basugaon to sell.

Author info

AT Kokrajhar Bureau's picture

Assam Times Kokrajhar bureau office, BTAD.

Add new comment


Republish this content

Pray for peace

31 Oct 2008 - 2:54am | editor
The serial blasts that shook the north eastern state of Assam on October 30, 2008 should be condemned by one and all. The inhumane act of injuring and killing the innocent people should be denounced and every act that damages the social fabric and disturbs peace and harmony of the nation should also be condemned. Let us pray for the bereaved families of those who have lost their lives in the incident and hope that communal harmony and peace will be maintained not only in northeast but also in every part of India.

Omar Luther King

B-60, Parijat Apts.
West Enclave
DELHI 110034

BPF and Congress sweep BTC poll in Udalguri District

15 Apr 2010 - 10:59pm | Jayanta Kumar Das

Hagrama Mahilari led BPF has swept second BTC general election in Udalguri District claiming 7 seats out of total 10 constituency in Udalguri district, while its ally Congress bagged 2 and UDPF-1 seats respectively.Following are the Constituency wise results.

31-Khoirabari –Lwmshrao Daimari (BPF) defeated Nandaram Boro(UDPF), 32-Bhergaon –Rati Ram Boro,(BPF) defeated Rabi Ram Boro (UDPF), 33-Nanoi Serfang – Santosh Kujur (Cong) defeated Radha Kurmi (BPF), 34-Khaling Dwar -Bonjar Daimari (BPF) defeated Ranjan Daimari (Ind), 35-Mudoibari -Jagadish Sarkar (BPF) defeated Keshab Deka (AGP), 36- Harisinga Kartik Boro (BPF) defeated Birendra Daimari (UDPF), 37-Dhansiri Mitha Ram Basumatari (BPF) defeated Balo Ram Brahma (UDPF), 38-Bhairabkunda Prodeep Kumar Daimari (UDPF) defeated Rabinson Daimari (BPF), 39-Pasnoi Serfang - Jitu Kishan, (Cong) defeated Shyam Sundi (BPF), 40-Rowta -Alindra Mochahary (BPF) defeated Mani Ram Daimari of Congress.

NDFB(S)men surrender before SP

23 Apr 2014 - 5:29pm | AT News

Altogether six NDFB-S militants have surrendered before the authorities in Sonitpur district on Wednesday.

All they formally surrendered before superintendent of police Sangyukta Parashar at her office in the morning.

They further deposited hand grenades along with some other incriminating materials.

Notably, NDFB-S militants have been unleashing a reign of terror in the district bordering Arunachal Pradesh for the last couple of years in the form of explosion, kidnapping, extortion. Three months back they killed additional superintendent of police Guljhar Ahmed at an ambush.