Skip to content Skip to navigation

Biennial election on May 30

The Election Commission of India has decided to hold Biennial Election in the state on May 30 next. The election will be held to fill up the vacancies which have arisen due to the expiry of the term of office of Dr. Manmohan Singh and Kumar Deepak Das on June 14 next. Both the members of the Council of States had been elected from the state.

As per the schedule, the notification will be issued on May 13 next. The last date of making nominations is May 20 and these nominations will be scrutinised on May 21. May 23 is the last date of withdrawal of candidatures. The date of Poll, if necessary is on May 30 from 9:00 A.M. to 4:00 P.M. Votes will be counted on May 30 at 5:00 P.M. The election should be completed before June 3, 2013.

Author info

Abdul Gani's picture

Add new comment


Republish this content

More Stories

Rhino again killed in Kaziranga National Park

6 Jun 2008 - 11:30pm | editor
Yet another rhino was found killed in the Kaziranga National Park on Friday. Poachers, who killed the rhino have already taken away its horn to reach the rhino poaching tally to 24.According to...

Salbagan beat Bongaigaon XI

15 Oct 2016 - 7:36pm | AT Kokrajhar Bureau
Salbagan FC, Gossaigaon beat Bongaigaon XI 7-0 in the Daoharu Mubgkhlong football trophy being played at Dotma HS ground in Kokrajhar district today.  For Salbagan, Mithinga Narzary alone...

Action against Subba

21 Mar 2014 - 1:50pm | AT News
Congress party is likely to take action against Mani Kumar Subba, who has filed nomination papers to independently contest in the upcoming Lok Sabha polls from Tezpur.Talking to reporters, APCC...