Skip to content Skip to navigation

Accolade for Aaranyak

Aaranyak, who has been working for nature conservation in North East India since its inception in 1989, has been awarded the 2012 Indira Gandhi Paryavaran Purashkar by the Ministry of Environment, Forests and Climate Change, Government of India in an event at New Delhi on 2nd February 2015.

Dr. Bibhab Kumar Talukdar, Secretary General and CEO of Aarannyak has received the award from Secretary, MoEFCC Ashok Lavasa, at the Ganga Auditorium of the Ministry of Environment, Forests and Climate Change in New Delhi

Author info

Udayan Borthakur's picture

Head, Wildlife Genetics Programe at Aaranyak

Add new comment


Republish this content

Crack in AGP!

28 Aug 2016 - 10:24am | AT News

Dissidence seems to have resurfaced in AGP when a section of the regional party leaders are dead opposed to a slew of move by the BJP-led government.

Sources told Assam Times that the regional party is not at all satisfied with the recent decisions to pave the way for auctioning the marginal oil fields and according the refugee status to the Hindu Bangladeshi nationals.

Former Chief Minister Prafulla Kumar Mahanta and his loyalists are have opposed the move whole party president Atul Bora who is a minister in the Sonowal cabinet is believed to have been giving his party’s tacit support to the moves.

Bora claims support of at least 7 legislators while Mahanta has been enjoying the support of other legislators who have yet to endorse the move.

The impending crack in the regional party came to light when the top leaders met in Guwahati on Saturday asked the legislators including party president Bora to clear their positions on the two issues.

Banks not honest with common people of Assam:DC Udalguri

13 Jun 2013 - 3:14pm | Jayanta Kumar Das

Setting a good example to others, the village women of Ratanpur near Tangla have successfully established a goatery farm as a positive step towards self sufficiency. Thirteen numbers of house wives belonging to different communities established “Milijuli Self Help Group” in the year 2004 at Ratanpur village.Since then they have been taking up various grass root level activities in the village including a goatery farm. Now the farm has nearly sixty local goats.

A high level officials visited the farm on 11 June. On the occasion a meeting was held at the village which was presided over by DN Hazarika,Circle Officer,Harisinga Revenue Circle,Tangla. Dr. Kailash Chamua, VAS,Tangla in his introductory speech spoke about the success story of the women group. He said that the farm was supported by RKVI scheme. Thaneswar Malakar,Deputy Commissioner, Udalguri, who attended the ceremony as the chief guest thanked the village house wives of Ratanpur for successful establishment of the goatery farm towards self sufficiency. He also said that most of the financial grants had never been properly utilised by NGO or self help groups. He said commercial banks too had never been honest to rural farmers.According to him most of the commercial banks have been releasing government subsidy amounts only to farmers, but fail to release bank loan amount. At the same time he requested farmers,self help groups and NGOs to properly utilise any types of government or bank financial assistance. The meeting was also attended and addressed by Dr.SK Das,HOD,Microbiology,Veterinary College, Guwahati Khanapara ; Dr. Maitrayee Devi and Indrani Chakravorty (both microbiologists).

Assam Ranji Trophy team announced

27 Oct 2011 - 2:36pm | Koushik Hazarika

Assam Cricket Association (ACA) selected Assam Ranji Trophy team against Jammu & Kashmir to be held in Srinagar from November 3 to 6. The assam team will reach Srinagar by November 1. ACA wishing best of luck for the game to the team - in a press release by Assam Cricket Association (ACA)

Team : Gokul Sarma (Captain), Abu Nechim Ahmed (Vice-Captain), Amit Sinha, Chandan Rawat, Tarjinder Singh, R Sathish, Abhijit Singha Roy, Dhiraj Jadhav, Sib Sankar Roy, Krishna Das , Dhiraj Goswami, Kunal Sakia (WK), Sekharjyoti Barman and Prakash Bhagat.

Extra player:- Chanakya Sarma, Parviz Aziz, Utpal Medhi and Prasanta Sonowal.

Manager: Proffessor Bhakti Medhi;

Coach: Rajesh Kamath;

Physio :Dr. Prasenjit Bhattacherjee;

Trainer : Nishant Thakur