Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Assam polling ends peacefully

With a moderate turn out, the second and last phase of Lok Sabha polls ended peacefully on Thursday. The polling began at around 7 in the morning to end at 4 in the afternoon. The polling started with a dull note due to a bad weather but later as the weather improved the weather improved voters lined to exercise their franchise.

Guwahati: In Guwahati Congress candidate Captain Robin Bordoloi cast his vote in the morning at the Gorkha LP School in Paltanbazar. Bordoloi accompanied by his wife Geeta Bordoloi, younger brother Bolin Bordoloi and daughter Ashima Bordoloi, arrived in the polling station at around 9-30 this morning and lined up for voting. Guwahati NCP candidate Akshay Rajkhowa cast his vote at No125 polling station at Lalsingh Academy in Kharghuli area. Bijoya Chakrabarty also cast his vote in the early hours. A stray incident came up at No 26 polling station at Kahilipara in Guwahati after polling began at 7 this morning. A section polling agents allegedly backed by some Congress leaders prevented some BJP supporters from casting their votes alleging absence of identity cards. The situation took a serious turn when some people started pelting stones at the polling stations. Later, the situation was brought under control.

Dibrugarh: After casting his vote, Dibrugarh AGP candidate and sitting MP Sarbananda Sonowal said that a section of ward commissioners has issued identity cards to some voters till Thursday.

According to him, some genuine citizens are not allowed to vote while some suspected citizens casting their votes in several places. Moderate polling was recorded in this constituency.

On the other hand, ULFA chief Paresh Baruah’s mother Miliki Baruah also cast her vote this morning in Dibrugarh.

Jorhat: Union minister and Congress candidate, his wife, Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi, his wife Doly Gogoi and Kaliabor Congress candidate Deep Gogoi cast their votes in the same polling stations in the morning. CPI candidate Drupad Borgohain cast his vote in Nazira. Initially, the turn out was low due to bad weather but later a moderate polling came up as the weather became clear.

KALIABOR: Polling was moderate and peaceful in 1423 polling stations in Kaliabor constituency where 13,46,550 voters exercised their franchise to decide on the fate of 8 candidates this time. Congress candidate Deep Gogoi is seeking re election in this constituency while AUDF is fielding Sira Juddin Ajmal in this constituency. The AGP-BJP alliance is fielding former minister Gunin Hazarika this time.

Tezpur: A moderate polling was recorded in this crucial Lok sabha seat where 12,07,117 voters were deciding on the fate of 15 candidates. Altogether 31.02 per cent has been recorded till 1 pm. The constituency has altogether 1283 polling station where voting started from 7 this morning. Sitting MP and Congress candidate Mani Kumar Subba, Deba Orang of AUDF, Joseph Toppo of AGP, CPI-ML candidate Rubul Sarma is among the prominent candidates. The constituency has 6,21,929 male voters while the number of female voters stands at 5,85,188. Meanwhile, Former AGP president Brindaban Goswami cast his vote at the Chandmari employment exchange centre at Tezpur in the morning.

NAGAON: BJP candidate Rajen Gohain has cast his vote this morning at the No 27 West Nagaon polling station at the Nagaon Doson Higher Secondary School with his wife. This was followed by the casting of vote by former Chief Minister Prafulla Kumar Mahanta has also cast his vote at the No 31 polling station at Mahendra Baruah LP School in Nagaon town. The turn was low due to rains from early in the morning where altogether 1408480 voters are exercising their franchise from 7 this morning. The number of male voters stands at 724414 while 684066 female voters are voting to decide on the fate of altogether 13 candidates. Prominent candidates include Anil Raja from Congress, sitting MP Rajen Gohain from BJP and AUDF candidate Siraj Uddin Ajmal. The constituency has 1514 polling stations...

DHUBRI.....Polling is by and large peaceful in Dhubri Lok Sabha constituency. The constituency has 13,71,290 voters and of these male voters are 7,04,423 while 6,66,867 others are female where ten candidates in the fray including Congress sitting MP Anwar Hussain and AUDF president Badaruddin Ajmal along with 6 other independent candidates. Polling is reported in 1488 polling stations.

KOKRAJHAR: Polling was peaceful and moderate under way in altogether 1488 polling stations in Kokrajhar where 3 candidates are in the fray. These include Sabda Ram Rabha from the AGP-BJP alliance, Sansuma Khunggur Bwiswmuthiary from BPF while Urkhao Gwra Brahma is an independent candidate. The constituency has 13,75,247 voters. According to BPF candidate S.K. Bwismuthiary, the party is confident of victory in the election. He further alleged the NDFB had been disrupting normal polling in some polling booths.

BARPETA: Brisk polling was recorded in this crucial constituency in altogether 1,396 booths. The constituency has altogether 12,37,190 voters including 6,55,584 male voters while 5,81,606 other voters are female. Fourteen candidates are in the fray including Ismail Hussain from Congress, Durgeswar Deka from CPI (M) and Bhupen Ray from AGP.

LAKHIMPUR: A moderate polling is reported in Lakhimpur Lok Sabha constituency where ended peacefully. The constituency has 13,31,497 voters including 6,50,589 male votetrs. Congress is fielding former MP Ranee Narah to face sitting MP and AGP leader Dr Arun Sarma is seeking re-election from this candidate.

MONGLODOI: Polling passed off peacefully where altogether 14,14,607 voters are expected to exercise their franchise to decide on the fate of 13 candidates in 1514 polling stations. Former MP Madhab Rajbangshi is contesting from Congress, AGP-BJP alliance is fielding Ramen Deka while BPF is fielding Dina Nath Das from this constituency. On the other hand, AUDF is fielding Badiuj Zamal in this constituency.

Author info

editor's picture

Please send your comments to

Add new comment


Republish this content

Random Stories

Lifer for Dimasa rebels for terror funding

23 May 2017 - 5:44pm | AT News
A special NIA court on Tuesday sentenced life imprisonment for two top Dimasa rebel leaders along with an elected member of an autonomous council in Dima Hasao district in connection with a...

9,100 HIV positive cases

13 Aug 2014 - 9:56pm | AT News
 Assam grapples with at least 9,100 HIV positive cases.Minister Nilomoni Sendeka informed the Assembly on Wednesday that as on March 31, 2014  Kamrup Metro district, which mostly comprise...

Santhali students demand ST status

6 Oct 2016 - 5:42pm | AT Kokrajhar Bureau
The All Santhali Students Union(ASSU) demanded early inclusion into Scheduled Tribe (ST) status of Santhali community in the state of Assam to gain community development and welfare. Speaking the...