Skip to content Skip to navigation

Rajya Sabha candidates elected unopposed

Guwahati: In a welcome change from previous years, the elections to Rajya Sabha from Assam this time did not throw up any last minute surprises or controversy with all three candidates on Wednesday declared elected unopposed.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Bhubaneswar Kalita, BJP’s ally Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) nominee Biswajit Daimary and the Congress-All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) consensus candidate Ajit Kumar Bhuyan were declared elected as the deadline for withdrawal of nomination ended.

Earlier, nomination papers filed by Kalita, Daimary and Bhuyan were found valid in the scrutiny. Elections for the three RS seats were scheduled for 26 March.

Kalita and Daimary thus make their return to the Upper House of Parliament. Seasoned journalist and rights activist Bhuyan praised both Congress and AIUDF leaders for reposing faith upon him.

Author info

AT News's picture

Assam Times Staff

Add new comment


Republish this content

More Stories

Mahanta defeats Hazarika, regains AGP presidentship

27 Apr 2012 - 2:59am | editor
Former chief minister Prafulla Kumar Mahanta has been elected as AGP president after the founder president defeated his rival Padma Hazarika by a margin of 37 votes in the party’s first-ever...

Chaiding incident: Will the prisoners of conscience awake?

21 Sep 2008 - 2:59pm | editor
The death toll at Chaiding has gone up to 45 on Friday night when they were trying to pilfer crude oil from a goods train along the Assam-Nagaland boder in Karbi Anglong district. But how the...

Cancer treatment by linear accelerator is a reality now

6 Oct 2008 - 2:10pm | bobbyramakant
The first patient was successfully treated by the state-of-the-art technology in radiotherapy – linear accelerator, which began functioning last week at RR Cancer Institute and Research Centre...