Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Countdown starts for BTC election in Udalguri district

The countdown has started for the second BTC general election to be held on April 9 in Udalguri district. District administration headed by SS Meenakshi Sundaram,Deputy Commissioner and District Election Officer has completed all the processes for free and fair election in the district.Total 795 numbers of polling stations have been made ready and 3180 numbers of polling officials have already moved to their repective polling stations. 19 companies of security personals have been deployed by the district administration for preventing any kind of poll violance,rigging or booth capturing.A total of 4,85025 numbers of voters (2,48553 males and 2,35572 females)would decide the fate of 48 candidates in the following constituencies.- 31 Khoirabari,32Bhergaon,33Nonaiserfang,34,Khalingduar,35 Mudoibari (open),36 Harisinga,37 Dhansree,37 ,38 Bhairabkunda,39 Pachnoi Serfang and 40 Rowta.No poll related violances have reported so far in the district.

Author info

Jayanta Kumar Das's picture

Environmental journalist.

Add new comment


Republish this content

Random Stories

Birth centenary of Padmashree Dr. Robin Banerjee celebrated

13 Aug 2008 - 1:10am | Ritupallab Saikia
The birth centenary of Padmashree Dr. Robin Banerjee, a naturalist of international repute was celebrated in Golaghat on 12th August with a day-long programme. A painting competition among the...

NIA seeks Mohet in its remand

5 Jun 2009 - 11:09am | editor
The National Investigating Agency probing the Mohet Hojai case is seeking remand of the former Chief Executive Member of the North Cachar Hills Autonomous who was arrested charging him with funding...

Barbaric killing of a jumbo

11 Jul 2013 - 9:39am | Ritupallab Saikia
Rangchali, Golaghat-Karbi Anglong Border, 10th July: Suspected poachers shot dead a wild tusker, chopping off its tusk and ears while its trunk was discovered nearby the jumbo‚Äôs body which was...