Skip to content Skip to navigation

National women's team for Asian Sr. Women Boxing Championship

The 13-member Women National Boxing team was named this evening by the Indian Amateur Boxing Federation (IABF) to represent India at the 4th Asian Sr. Women Boxing Championship to be held at Guwahati from 23rd to 28th September 2008. Abhay Singh Chautala Chairman of the Selection Committee said that the best team at the moment has been picked for the championship here at Sports Authority of India (SAI), Ground at Paltan Bazar Guwahati. Arjuna Jaslal Pradhan was the Government observer of the selection committee. G S Sandhu Chief National Coach (Men) and Arjuna awardee D. S Yadav, Mehtab Singh are the member of the selection committee.

Names of the boxers, representing states/unit and weight category as follows. M. C Marykom Manipur 46kg, Kalpana Choudhury Assam 48kg, Chotto Laura RSPB 50kg, L Sarita Devi Manipur 52kg, Pavitra Haryana 54kg, N Usha RSPB 57kg, Pranamika Borah Assam 60kg, s Ibemacah Devi Assam 63kg, Kavita Goyat haryana 66kg, Jyotsana RSPB 70kg, Renu Gora Haryana 75kg, Lekha K. C Kerala 80kg, Kavita Chahal Haryana 86kg.

SAI Guwahati Director Subash Basumatary have extended greetings and best wishes to the team
Author info

Nanda Kirati Dewan's picture

Youth Activist and Social Entrepreneur, Strategic Communicator, Aspiring Parliamentarian Managing Trustee @ Dewan&Sons, Independent Journalist

Add new comment


Republish this content

More Stories

BJP detractors at cross-roads!

15 Apr 2010 - 12:57pm | Daya Nath Singh
The BJP detractors, the four Members of Assam Legislative Assembly, who defied the party whip during recent Rajya Sabha elections and cast their votes in favor of the candidates of Congress Party...

Long hours of power cut in Dhubri make the life of people miserable

21 May 2011 - 10:55pm | A Chakraborty
The entire Dhubri district is reeling under acute power cuts problem for the last few months and sometime the district headquarter, Dhubri have to remain without electricity for 16 to 18 hours in a...

Haflong Jagannath Bari completes 100 years

29 Feb 2012 - 8:18pm | Anup Biswas
With the lighting of holy lamp, Sri Debojeet Thaosen, Chief Executive Member, Dima Hasao Autonomous Council inaugurated the 4 day ‘Centenary celebration of Jagannathbari’ Haflong...