Skip to content Skip to navigation

Tight security in Nagaland for polls


KOHIMA: A massive security arrangement is in place in Nagaland as the north eastern state is going to the assembly polls on February 28. Official sources confirmed in Kohima that the the Centre is prepared to dispatch 281 companies of security apart from the state police. These central forces are arriving soon to help the state ensure free and fair polls.

According to the state election department, 77 central forces have already landed in the poll bound state while others are likely to arrive in a day or two. A round-the-clock vigil is in place at the police check-posts to deal with the cash and arms movement apart from liquor deal. "The remaining central forces are arriving after the end of the polling in Tripura slated for February 18," said a government officer.


Author info

AT News's picture

Assam Times Staff

Add new comment


Republish this content

Nazira pays tribute to Bhupenda

6 Nov 2014 - 4:52pm | SK Hasan

Music legend Bhupen Hazarika was remembered at Nazira on his 3rd death anniversary. The All Assam Student Union’s Nazira unit lighted over hundred earthen lamps in front of Nazira HSMP School.

In an attempt to pay tribute to the bard the AJYCP regional unit of Bokata too organized a day long program at Nongalamara Gayanudoy Library.



NEDFi Brain Jam Open Quiz 2008

14 Jul 2008 - 2:51am | editor

Ace Quiz Master Barry O' Brian asking questions to the Quiz participants in the NEDFi Brain Jam Open Quiz 2008 Competition held at ITA Machkhowa in Guwahati on 13-07-08 evening.

Pix by UB Photos.

Police Day award

1 Oct 2015 - 5:58am | AT News

The 67th Assam Police Day is being  celebrated on Thursday. Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi is giving away Director General of Police "Commendation Medal" at a function in Kahilipara, Guwahati in the morning. 

  1. Dr. L. R. Bishnoi, IPS, Inspector General of Police (BTAD), Kokrajhar
  2. Akhilesh Kumar Singh, IPS, Deputy Inspector General of Police (Security),SB, Assam, Guwahati
  3. Nabaneet Mahanta, APS, Addl. Supdt. of Police(HQ), Kamrup
  4.  Mushleh Uddin Ahmed, APS, Comdt., 15th A.P(IR)Bn., Eraligool, Karimganj
  5. Tabu Ram Pegu, APS, Addl. Supdt. of Police(HQ), Chirang
  6. Lamhao Doungel, APS, Addl. Supdt. of Police(HQ), Tinsukia
  7. Prabhat Sonowal, Inspector(AB), 2nd A.P.Bn., Makum
  8. Trailokya Thakuria, Inspector(AB), PTC, Dergaon
  9. Nobin Borborah, Inspector(UB), 2nd A.P.Bn., Makum
  10. Krishna Kanta Dutta, Inspector(UB), RI, Police Commissionerate, Guwahati
  11. Arabindra Deka, Sr. Station officer, F&ES, Assam
  12. Lohit Goswami, Sr. Station officer, F&ES, Assam
  13. Shomez Uddin, Inspector(RM), APRO, Assam
  14. Nagendra Nath Deka, Inspector(UB), S.B. Orgn., Assam
  15. Ananda Kr. Dusadh, Inspector(F/E), APRO, Assam
  16. Basanta Das, Inspector(F/E), APRO, Assam
  17. Atul Swargiary, Sub-Inspector(UB), S.B.Orgn., Assam
  18. Prem Kt. Saikia, Sub-Inspector(Opr.), APRO, Assam
  19. Atul Ch. Hazarika, Sub- Inspector(Opr.), APRO, Assam
  20. Probin Chandra Mahanta, Sub- Inspector(UB), S.B. Orgn., Assam
  21. Ramendra Singha, Sub-Inspector(M), 16th A.P(IR)Bn., Bormonipur, Morigaon
  22. Ashit Kumar Mazumder, Sub-Inspector(UB), Border Orgn., Assam
  23. Ghanashyam Sarkar, Sub-Inspector(AB), 8th A.P. Bn., Abhyapuri
  24. Tapan Ch. Kalita, Sub-Inspector(UB), Barpeta DEF
  25. Sanjit Kr. Roy, Sub-Inspector(UB), Barpeta DEF
  26. Chandan Goswami, Sub-Inspector(UB), Darrang DEF
  27. Vinod Phangso, Sub-Inspector(UB), Golaghat DEF
  28. Hridoyananda Bora, Sub-Inspector(UB), Tinsukia DEF
  29. Pramud Deori, Sub-Inspector(AB), 2nd A.P.Bn., Makum, (on deputation to Golaghat DEF)
  30. Ripun Dutta, Asstt. Sub-Inspector(UB), PTC, Dergaon
  31. Mintu Chandra Seal, Asstt. Sub-Inspector(UB), Karimganj DEF
  32. Panne Lal Gupta, Asstt. Sub-Inspector(UB), Border Orgn., Assam
  33. Dharmendra Borah, ASI/Clk, 1st A.P.Bn., Ligiripukhuri
  34. Siteswar Mech, Havilder, PTC, Dergaon
  35. Pradip Singh, Havilder, 9th A.P.Bn., Barhampur, Nagaon
  36. Shiv Kumar Bhujel, Hav/Clk, 2nd A.P.Bn., Makum
  37. Abdul Faruque, HC(UB), 0/0 the DIGP(CR), Diphu
  38. Chirodip Das, Hav/Clk, 8th A.P.Bn., Abhayapuri
  39. Rubul Das, LNK-703, 2nd A.P.Bn., Makum
  40. Babul Kr. Bordoloi, UBC, Border Orgn., Assam
  41. Gobinda Pathak, Const(Opr), APRO, Assam
  42. Kamal Rajbongshi, C/N-344, CDO Bn., Mandakata
  43. Khagen Kalita, UBC-1634, Police Commissionerate, Guwahat
  44. Rupam Kumar Dihingia, UBC, Golaghat DEF