Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Tears and cheers for Assam Congress

Silchar Congress candidate and Union minister Santosh Mohan Dev was defeated band the crucial seat has gone to BJP candidate Kavindra Purukayastha. The winning candidate Purukayastha defeated his nearest rival AUDF candidate Badaruddin Ajmal by a margin of 42,030 votes. On the other hand, Congress candidate Dev had to remain satisfied in third place with 1,97,380 votes.

Congress candidate Biren Singh Engti has retained Diphu seat defeating his nearest rival ASDC candidate Elwin Teron by a margin of 71,819 votes. BJP candidate Kulendra Daulagapu had to remain satisfied in third place with 84,732 votes while CPI(ML) candidate Dr Jayanta Rongpi obtained 36,844 votes.

AUDF candidate Badaruddin Ajmal has wrested Dhubri seat defeating his nearest rival Congress candidate and sitting MP Anowar Hussain by a huge margin of 1,80,066 votes.

The ruling party has bad new in Tezpur where its candidate and sitting MP Mani Kumar Subba has lost to AGP candidate Joseph Toppo. The regional AGP had to remain satisfied with this seat.

The Asom Gana Parishad has failed to retain Dibrugarh where sarbananda Sonowal was defeated by Congress strongman Pawan Singh Ghatowar. In yet another blow, the party candidate and sitting MP Arun Kumar Sarma.

On the other hand, in Jorhat Union minister Bijoy Krishna Handique has retained the seat defeating his nearest rival candidate Kamakhya Prasad Tasha while CPI candidate and MLA Drupad Borgohain was ranked in third place.

Congress candidate Ismail Hussain won the Barpeta seat defeating his nearest AGP candidate Bhupen Ray while the ruling party has lost the prestigious Guwahati seat to BJP candidate and former minister Bijoya Chakrabarty.

BJP candidate Rajen Gohain retain the Nagaon seat defeating his nearest rival Congress candidate Anil Raja by a comfortable margin of vote.

BPF candidate and sitting MP SK Bwismuthiary has won the seat who has forged pre poll pact with Congress.

Author info

editor's picture

Please send your comments to

Add new comment


Republish this content

Random Stories

AGP MLA Padma Hazarika shot at in home town

14 Dec 2007 - 1:43am | editor
Asom Gana Parishad MLA, from Sootea, Padma Hazarika was shot by some unidentified miscreants in his home town on Thursday night. Further, the miscreants set on fire his vehicle.According to...

Nomination invited for Best School Award

16 Jun 2013 - 9:25am | Paresh Baishya
Paresh Baishya Foundation, a trust for enrichment of education and journalism, has invited nomination papers for Best School Award, 2013.The school having 100% success rate in the H.S.L.C or CBSE...

Citizen's Meet on Foreign Terrorist's attack on India

5 Nov 2008 - 5:10pm | editor
On the aftermath of the serial blasts in Assam that killed over 80 and wounded nearly 400 people, the Journalists' Forum, Assam has organized a Citizen's Meet on Wednesday at Guwahati Press Club. The...