Skip to content Skip to navigation

Firing at Tetelitol, 2 CRPF jawans dies

In a bizzare incident involving CRPF, one CRPF jawan was killed and another was critically injred when an exchange of fire took place between themselves. The incident took place at around 8.00 PM in the Tetelitol CRPF Check Point at Golagat. One Ruganeh Singh from Rajasthan was killed on the spot and Venkatesh Barlu from Andra Pradesh was critically injured in the incident. The other jawan succumbed to injuries later.

Author info

Ritupallab Saikia's picture

Add new comment


Republish this content

Assam Assembly session from July 14

23 May 2008 - 5:40pm | editor
Assam Governor Lt General Ajay Kumar Singh has issued a notification convening the summer session if the Asam Legislative Assembly on July 14. Notably, the Government has been insisting on holding of four sessions in each year.

Modi’s smart police concept

30 Nov 2014 - 11:57am | AT News

Prime minster Narendra Modi speaks of his mind. In his address at the second and last day of the DGP-IGP conference in Guwahati on Sunday, Modi talks of his own concept of smart police.

“I have a new concept ie smart police. Smart Police requires sensitive, model and mobility, alert and accountable, Reliable and responsive, tech savy and trained.

He said the two days conference is a great moral booster for the north eastern region where militancy continues to stifle development.

He further said that there is no dearth of weapons for the policemen. But these weapons should be placed in the right hands.    


ASEB lifts Mungkhlong trophy

23 Oct 2016 - 10:29pm | AT Kokrajhar Bureau

Assam State Electricity Board (ASEB), Guwahati defeated Barhoongkha AC, Kokrajhar 4-0 in the final match of the Daoharu Mungkhlong football trophy being played at Dotma HS school ground in Kokrajhar district on Sunday. For ASEB, Okrang Narzary scored first goal in 11 minutes, Swmkhwr Brahma scored another goal in 38 minutes,Rakesh Das scored two goals in 47 minutes and 60 minutes which led the team to win 4-0. Swmkhwr Brahma was adjusted ax best player of the trophy. BTC executive member Rajib Brahma handed over trophy and cash 50,000 to the championship while Biren Chandra Pukhan, Principal Secretary, BTC gave away trophy and cash 25,000 to the runners up team.