Skip to content Skip to navigation

Mohammedan Sporting Club win Independence Cup

Mohammedan Sporting Club of Kolkata won the Independence Ccup football title beating last year's champion BSF, Jalandhar 3-2, via tie break, in the final held at Nagaon on Thursday. The schedule and extra time of the match were ended goalless.

It was the fourth occasions that Mohammedan Sporting Club won this prestigious Iindependence Ccup title .

V Ram Kumar, Mike Okero and Adibaeo converted the spot kick successfully for Mohammedan Sporting. On the other hand, P B Ekka and Amarjit Singh scored the goals for BSF, Jalandhar .

Forest Minister Rockybul Hussain and Ssecretary of the Assam Football Association Ankur Dutta were present in the closing function and also distributed the prizes.

Nasibul Haq of Mohammedan Sporting received the best player award of the final while his team mate Mike Okero won the highest goal scorer award. City Police of Guwahati received the fair play trophy of the tournament.

Photo: Mohammedan Sporting Club, champion of 59th All India Prize Money Independence Day Football Tournament seen with champion trophy at Nagaon on 11-10-07. Pix by UB Photos

Author info

editor's picture

Please send your comments to

Add new comment


Republish this content