Skip to contentSkip to navigation

23rd Biennial Conference of All Chutia Youth Sanmilan concluded at Golaghat

The 23rd bi-ennial conference of All Chutia Youth Sanmilan concluded today at Jamuguri in Golaghat district. At the open session held on the concluding day eminent personalities of the state graced the occasion. Among those who attended the meet were Haren Chutia, Secretary All Chuita Jati Sanmilan, Sarat Saikia MLA from Mahmora constituency and Parliamentary Secretary Education department, Amiya Bora former chairperson of APSC, Jatin Bora Vice-president of All Assam Students Union. Speaking on the occasion Bitupan Saikia, the newly elected president of All Chutia Youth Sanmilan, said that the Chutias have been demanding the SC status for a long time but the government has been ignoring our pleas. He further said that, as a consolation the government has set up a development council but the people are not satisfied with it as the council had failed to leave up to the expectations of Chutia people and we shall not stop our movement unless the much demanded SC status has been given to us. A new executive committee of All Chutia Youth Sanmilan has also been formed having Bitopan Saikia as President and Nripen Saikia as Secretary.

Author info

Ritupallab Saikia's picture

Add new comment


Republish this content

Random Stories

AAU students depicts social realities through street plays at Puranigudam

28 Oct 2017 - 7:17pm | AT Staff Reporter
A group of fourth year students, Bsc(Agri.) of AAU presently undertaking their RAWE programme in Puranigudam, Nagaon opted for a unique platform-streetplay-in Garmur Tiniali to put across their...

Puppet show performed in Port Blair

29 Nov 2018 - 12:46am | Prantik Deka
Puppet dance, popularly known as 'Potola Nach', was once the most popular form of entertainment, especially for children, but the tradition has struggled to survive against the onslaught of modern...

HSDP flays Assam Govt.

7 Feb 2013 - 9:38am | Anup Biswas
Hill State Democratic Party (HSDP) Dima Hasao Committee flayed the Assam Government led by Mr Tarun Gogoi, Chief Minister of Assam, for its failure to hold general election to Autonomous Council in...