Skip to content Skip to navigation

Congress pledged to oust non-congress from DHAC

  • G C Langthasa
    G C Langthasa

Aiming at the general election to the Dima Hasao Autonomous Council expected to be held during the last part of April and first part of May in two phases, the congress leaders of Dima Hasao with the initiative of the senior most congress leader G C Langthasa, who is also the seating congress MLA from 16 Haflong have started election campaign in Dima Hasao.

The election campaign started right from the home constituency of the present Chief Executive Member, Langting continued to the constituencies like Hatikhali, Maibang, Mahur, Wajao etc wherein all the workers and supporters spontaneously pledged to oust the non-congress while extending fullest support to the congress leaders to bring back in power. It is learnt that this campaigning has been started with the blessings of Congress High Command who wants election to the DHAC the last part of April and first part of May in two phases. In these campaign Sri Bimal Hojai,

Though G C Langthasa, the most suffered and senior congress MLA from Haflong did not get berth in the Gogoi cabinet but recently the relationship in between Gogoi and Langthasa was improved perhaps following dissident factor in state congress. It is to be mentioned here Langthasa has lost his two sons in the hand of militants as he was the congress leader and he has been the congress leader for 51 years.

The Rajib Bhawan at Haflong was seen to be very busy to prepare the list of candidates with caution as there have been multiple candidates seeking congress tickets for single constituencies. The President, DCC(I) Sri Nalendra Karigapsa is learnt to be happy enough and has been attending almost all the meetings and apart from Karigapsa, Bimal Hojai, Hamjanan Langthasa, J L Jidung, Biswajeet Chakraborty have been addressing these meetings with confidence. They appealed to the congress men to extend their support to bring their favorite congress leaders in the DHAC for the all round development of the district as a whole.

G C Langthasa talking to this correspondent on Sunday said while expressing concern over the present acute water crisis in the district followed by indifferent Attitude of the concerned department, the people of Dima Hasao should opt for good leaders in the council. The election to the DHAC is nearing, the people of Dima Hasao should also think for the better tomorrow. When asked who are getting the congress tickets, without mentioning the names he said the entire senior and defeated candidates in the last election (2007) are expected to get the congress tickets. He also disclosed that from March 16 next he will be holding series of meetings at different places of Dima Hasao like Jinam Valley. He further said he would also inspect the development schemes which were being initiated by him in remoter areas of Dima Hasao.

Author info

Anup Biswas's picture

Add new comment


Republish this content

Uneasy calm in Dimapur

5 Mar 2015 - 10:45am | AT News

Dimapur Correspondent: An eerie silence prevails in Dimapur a day after some youths attacked a section of non Naga people besides damaging many shops in the commercial town of Nagaland.

The entire town is being heavily guarded by police and para military forces from Wednesday evening to avert any recurrence of untoward incident which took place following the alleged rape of a local college girl by a suspected Bangladeshi immigrant on February 23.

 A bandh like situation is prevailing from early in the morning. Only a few vehicles are plying on the streets. Shops and business establishments, mostly are remaining closed.

The district authorities have already clamped Section 144 CrPC to ensure peace and normalcy in the town which mired in violence from Wednesday evening when a section of local youths started attacking some non Naga pedestrians after damaging shops allegedly owned by the suspected Bangladeshi immigrants in New Market, Hong Kong Market, Duncan and areas of the town.

Another section of local youths further partially damaged the Old Masjid in the absence of police and para military forces. The situation was brought under control after 8 in the evening after the arrival of police and para military forces who dispersed the violent youths. There are also reports of shops being damaged in Duncan Bosti area.

14 days police remand for arrested officers

28 Mar 2018 - 6:21pm | AT News

GUWAHATI: A special court in Guwahati on Wednesday sent six officers to 14 days police remand after they were arrested in connection with the APSC scam.

Special judge before whom they were produced allowed the investigating police officers to take them in their demand for investigation.

Amid tight security the investigators have been quizzing at Special Branch headquarters at Kahilipara. Crackdown is still on for a few others who are on the run.

 In the second huge crackdown against the officers in question, the Dibrugarh police probing the APSC scam  on Wednesday caught Bajali Circle officer  Joydev Mahanta from Panbazar area in Guwahati.

Hours before it, the police arrested Nalbari tax inspector Barnali Devi, Mancachar based IRBN DSP Kaushik Kalita, Dhakuwakhana Circle officer Rhituraj Gogoi, Majuli assistant employment officer Satyajit Sarkar and Rangiya excise inspector Abhisekh Borbora.

Another ACS officer whom the government recently suspended is in touch with police to turn approver in the case.
All they appeared in the handwriting test conducted by the investigators two months back. Sources said a few others are likely to be arrested soon.

“We can't disclose anything now. On the basis of forensic report we are proceeding. More officers who ensured recruitment this way would be arrested,”said a senior police officer.

The special operation unit led by Dibrugarh additional SP SS Panesar has already arrested 36 people including APSC chairman Rakesh Paul in this connection.


Assam records high turnout in first phase of polling

4 Apr 2011 - 10:28pm | AT News

Over 85 per cent voters excercised thier franchize in the first phase of assembly polls in 62 constituencies covering 13 districts on Monday. Amid a mammoth security arrangement, polling began at 7 in the morning in over 11,000 booths which ended as soon as the clock struck at 3 in the afternoon.

The fate of 485 candidates have been sealed in the electronic voting machies. Of these, 38 are women nominees. The polling was by and large peaceful.

Polling was delayed in several places because of some technical snags problems in the electronic voting machines. Congress and the BJP have fielded 62 candidates each in this phase. AGP has 51 candidates this time including former president Brindabon Goswami, former transport minister Pradeep Hazarika and party general secretary Atul Bora. BJP state president Ranjeet Dutta and fire brand Prasanta Phukan are among the heavyweights whose fate have been sealed in EVMs. Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi, former transport minister Anjan Dutta, PWD minister Ajanta Neog, power minister Pradyut Bordoloi, Assembly Speaker Tanka Bahadur Rai, water resources minister Prithvi Majhi are among the Congress leaders who are seeking mandate this time again. There are 157 independent candidates in the fray for the first phase.

The ULFA leaders now in the peace process have not excercised their franchise as they have announced earlier. Moreover two former ULFA rebels are also seeking fresh mandate this time. they are Kushal Duwari from Thowra in Sivasagar district and Jiten Gogoi from Bokakhat in Golaghat district.

For the first time, KLNLF rebels operating in Karbi Anglong district participated in the democratic process by casting their vote on Monday. A total of 9.6 million voters in the second phase elections April 11 in 64 seats would decide the fate of 496 candidates. Results would be anniunced on May 13.