Skip to content Skip to navigation

Truck torched during bandh

A truck was torched by bandh supporters at Bodeaguri near Gurufela 31C National High on Wednesday morning during the ongoing 24-hour Assam bandh called by Pradip Ray faction of the AKRSU, demanded inclusion of Koch Rajbongshi community into Scheduled Tribe (ST) status and creation of Kamatapur state within Indian constitution. 

The AKRSU called the bandh to put pressure government seeking early grant of ST status to the Koch Rajbongshis, Kamatapur state to meet healthy development of the region. The bandh was started from 5am this morning and would be continued till 5am of Thursday. 

The bandh saw a violence as bandh supporters torched atration no.MH43-Y6067 bound for Kachugaon from Gossaigaon.The truck was seen completely damaged, even though fire tender reached the spot in earliest manner. 

The bandh saw partial response in Kokrajhar town with private vehicles fly as usual, besides public buses remained off on the day. The bandh affected normal life in some areas like Gossaigaon, Srirampur, Tamarhat in Kokrajhar district. Bandh was evoke full response in Chirang, some part in Baksa and Udalguri district without any untoward incidents till filling of this report. 

AKRSU activists burnt tyres on the day to put protest against government and demanded early so, unions of the demand a day issues of Koch Rajbongshis. 

A security vigil was carried out in the district during the bandh, besides long distance truck and buses were escorted with special forces and passed along the nation highway. 

'No any untoward incident was reported from any parts of the district and bandh passed with peaceful', said a senior police official in Kokrajhar. 


Author info

AT Kokrajhar Bureau's picture

Assam Times Kokrajhar bureau office, BTAD.

Add new comment


Republish this content

No war against India: ULFA-I

28 Nov 2015 - 11:11pm | AT News

ULFA-I uses guerrilla tactic only for self defence and not for waging any war against India, said Dr Abhizeet Asom.

In a message sent to media on the Protest Day on Saturday, the ULFA-I chairman said that the outfit has been struggling to save the rights of the indigenous people of Assam.

According to the elusive ULFA-I leader, the "immature" student leaders who spearheaded the Assam Agitation surrendered before New Delhi when they signed an accord to deport Bangladeshi aliens in 1985 with Rajiv Gandhi.

"However, India in contrast is seeking military solution to our legitimate struggle to establish our birthright as enshrined in international statues and our indigenous masses are responding to the call of the hour to own what belong to them," said the ULFA supremo.

He further spoke of the India, Bangladesh land deal with reference to the history of East Pakistan. The outfit also said that the move to give refugee status to the non-Muslim Bangladeshis are strange.  

I-Day celebrated in Karbi Anglong amidst the threat of militants

16 Aug 2011 - 4:02am | AT News

The people of the hill district Karbi Anglong celebrated the64th Independence Day defying the threat of Karbi militant organizations. The Tricolour national flag was unfurled by State HRD Minister, Kaharsing Engti on Monday, at Diphu Karbi Anglong Sports Association (KASA) stadium. In his speech, Engti higlighted on the different progresses that persisting round the clock by the State government.

It may mentioned here that imcluding Diphu, and 11 Development Blocks of the hill district, at Howraghat Development Block too, Independence Day was observed with pomp and gaiety.

The National triocolour was unfurled at Howraghat Development Block office premises by Premala Beypi, local MAC and EM, KAAC in support of the BDO, Howraghat Development Block. While unfurling the National flag, Beypi, along with recalling our landmark heroes those who scarified their lives for the Independent of the Country, she highlighted on the various development scheme initiated by the Congress led KAAC body and urged all outfit groups to come to the mainstream eschewing all their envious and violence of mood for the greater interest of peace tranquility.

Flutter in AGP: Goswami walks out of general body meet

22 Sep 2008 - 2:41am | editor
In a high voltage political drama, the Opposition Asom Gana Parishad has replaced president Brindabon Goswami with general secretary Chandra Mohan Patowary. The sudden and strange development came up after the sitting president Brindabon Goswami walked out of the stormy general body meeting organized at the Udeshna Cinema hall premises on Sunday. On the other hand, the central executive body has been dissolved minutes after two top guns Dr Arun Sarma and Sarbananda Sonowal resigned as vice presidents. Before that the party’s general body meeting cleared the decks for unification of the regional forces at a verbal vote.

The Asom Gana Parishad was born in 1985.

On that year, the party managed to get 61 seat in the assembly polls paving the way for occupying Dispur with the help a few independent legislators. In 1991, the regional party was divided and the breakaway group was named as the Natun Asom Gana Parishad. The new party was led by the main architects of the Assam Agitation Bhrigu Kumar Phukan, Pulakesh Baruah, Brindabon Goswami, Dinesh Goswami et al. And the result came in the form of the defeat in thw 1991 Assembly polls. Stunned by the poll debacle, the united form the first time and agains came to power in 1996. The regional party formed the government with Mahanta again as the Chief Minister but with the help of UMF and the Left parties. Atul Bora and Pulakesh Baruah who were unhappy with this course of action floated the Trinamool Gana Parishad. Instead of merging with TGP, the regional party forged poll pact with the Bharatiya Janata Party in 2001 lost to Congress. Mahanta resigned from the party presidentship and the onus of responsibility was left to Brindabon Goswami and thus the party was riddled with internal bickering. There was two camps of Mahanta and Goswami withnin the party. Mahanta was expelled from the party. A stunned Mahanta backed by his henchmen Gunin hazarika, Bubukl Das, Sahidul Alom Chaudhury, Utpal floated Asom Gana parishad-Pragatisheel in 2005. But fail to yield good results in the asebly polls in 2006. AGP got 24 seats while its breakaway group had to remain satisfied with one seat. Birth of AGP 1985 on October 14. The party came to power in 1985 NAGP formed in 1991 and the leaders were Bhrigu Kumar Phukan, Brindabon Goswami, Dinesh Goswami and Pulakesh Baruah. AGP and NAGP reunited in 1995. TGP was floated in 1999 and the leaders were Atul Bora, Pulakesh Baruah and Krishna Gopal Bhattacharya. AGP(P) was formed in 2005 and the leaders were prafulla Kumar Mahanta, Gunin Hazarika, Saidul Alam Chaudhury, Bubul Das and Utpal Dutta.