Skip to content Skip to navigation

Saga of Untied Fund Scam

In the wake of growing demands, especially from a group of conscious citizens, the chief minister’s Vigilance and Anti-corruption Cell arrested five persons including two then Additional Deputy Commissioners for their alleged involvement with a multi crore rupees scam taken place in Jorhat during 2013-15. The two then ADC Anjanabh Chaliha and Bubul Lekharu, arrested by the Vigilance Cell, are now in judicial custody along with two contractors, who were also arrested in the same case. One accused is now in the custody of the Vigilance Cell after he was remanded by the Special Court of Assam for the same. The Vigilence Cell has registered a case under various sections of the IPC and the Prevetion of Corruption Act.

The multi crore scam, allegedly, occurred in implementation of various schemes from the Untied Fund earmarked for the district in the year 2013-15. The investigation to the scam revealed that Anjananabh Chaliha, the then ADC as well as the main accused of the scam, allegedly conspired with two Office  Assistants namely Prabhat Dutta and Sandhya Rani Mazoomdar in the Planning and Development branch of the Deputy Commissioner’s office, to embezzle more than rupees 30 crore earmarked under the Untied Fund. Meanwhile, the investigating agency, reportedly, found out huge misappropriation of money of other development funds too, in the district from the year 2013 to 2015 when Bishal Basanta Solanki was the Deputy Commissioner.

According to information, the accused of the Untied Fund scam also, allegedly, misappropriated MPLADs and MLALADs Funds besides the fund of the Gyanjyoti scheme. The Vigilance Cell’s investigation came into light that the accused withdrew cash from different bank accounts, maintained by the then DC, by self-drawing cheques in different course of time. ADC Chaliha was also posted as the District Development Officer (DDO) then, who, allegedly, had broken down the Financial Discipline of the government’s in disbursing funds from various development schemes.

The investigation revealed that the then DDO allotted government works without calling NIT for favouring some contractors besides granting funds for private institutions and NGOs. The contractors, in turn, allegedly offered commissions to the DDO. Meanwhile, the Vigilance Cell arrested two contractors Prabhat Dutta and Ujjaljyoti Borah, who were known as close associates with the then DDO. 

Author info

Raktim Baruah's picture

Journalist based in Guwahati. Mobile: 9706390337. Email:

Add new comment


Republish this content

AATSA demands recovery of missing twin baby

12 Mar 2011 - 10:29pm | maniramdutta

Assam Tea Tribes Student Association (AATSA) is planning to protest at Jorhat Medical Hospital (JMCH) regarding the missing baby of Niha and Bipin Modi. The Assistant General Secretary of teh organisation told this at a press conference on March 12 at Sivasagar. The Modi family claim to gave birth to twin baby boy and was allegedly swapped with a girl at the hospital.

In the meantime Bipin Modi had sent a letter to Chief Secretary of & DGP demanding recovery of the twin baby witin 72 hours, else they would approach Guwahati high Court for justice.

Nagaland Govemnment Under Siege

5 Jan 2008 - 3:01am | Rituparna Goswami Pande

President’s rule was clamped in Nagaland and the Assembly kept in suspended animation after the coalition party Democratic Alliance of Nagaland (DAN) led by Rio’s Nagaland’s People’s Front (NPF) despite winning a controversial no confidence motion on December 13.

Rio survived the trial of strength by 23-19 votes in te 60 member house. It survived because speaker Kiyanielie Peseyie barred three Independent MLAs from voting on the motion and declared invalid the votes of nine dissident NPF MLAs.

The Neiphiu Rio government in Nagaland would have completed its full term of office but it failed to do so as it’s rule was ended by the declaration of president’s rule when it had just two months to complete its term.

The NPF was buoyant till yesterday about overcoming the hurdles and were also confident in the wake of rumors about the imminent President’s rule.

President Pratibha Patil signed the recommendation of the Union Cabinet to dismiss the Rio government and impose central rule in the state. However, it was reported that the president held on to the file for a day before signing and took her time consulting the experts regarding the decision.

Reacting to the rule Rio expressed his apprehension that the latest situation may jeopardize the ongoing peace process with Naga Millitant groups and termed it “outrageous” and termed it illegal.

Meanwhile, the Congress Legislature Party leader I. Imkong sounded jubilant and praised the President for upholding the Constitution and dispensing justice to the people of Nagaland.

Mentionably, President’s Rule was clamped in Nagaland for the first time during Emergency. It was again under President’s Rule in 1987 after the Hokishe Sema led Congress government was reduced to a minority. Then again in 1992 it was under central rule when the Rajiv Gandhi led Congress government at the center dismissed the then ruling Nagaland People’s Council government.

Imposing of President’s Rule just months before Assembly elections has not gone down well with many political leaders and they see the move as the Congress’ repeated moves of overthrowing elected governments in Nagaland as anti people and a ploy to capture power in Nagaland.

Dahit Chandra Brahma named for Kokrajhar west LAC

18 Mar 2016 - 9:59am | Hantigiri Narzary

The AIUDF party announced 19 names of the candidates to contest the ensuing assembly election in the state which included Kokrajhar west LAC on Thursday.

Dahit Chandra Brahma has been named as candidate from Kokrajhar west (No.29) LAC from AIUDF party.

Party supporter and voters of the Kokrajhar west constituency expressed their happy after getting ticket to Dahit Chandra Brahma and thanked to the party leaders for nominating Brahma as candidate to contest the election.

Dahit Chandra Brahma after getting ticket said that he is contesting the election with mass support and his winning is sure in the constituency. He has thanked party leaders for nominating him as candidate.

The candidates which included Aminul Islam (Mankachar), Nizanur rahman (Gauripur), Safer Ali Ahmed (Golokganj), Ravishankar Kasireddy (Gossaigaon), Dahit Chandra Brahma (Kokrajhar west), Abdul Batin Kandakar (North Abhayapuri), Deraiuddin Ahmed (Chaygaon), Mujibur Rahman (Hajo), Abdul Samad Choudhuri (Rangia), Nathuram Boro (Kalaigaon), Syed Abdulla (Sipajhar), Akram Hussain Talukdar (Barketry), Mazibur Rahman (Dalgaon), Putul Chnadra Das (Jagirod), Siddique Ahmed (Laharighat), Guneswar Das (Raha), Kartik Saha (Nowgong), Shariful Islam Siddique (Barhampur), and Boloram Nag (Kaliabor).