Skip to content Skip to navigation

National poets’ meet held at Bokakhat

Under the aegis of the Sahitya Akademi, JDSG College, Bokakhat, held a one-day National Poets' Meet on November 26 where 23 poets writing in different languages from all over India took part. Dr Kutubuddin Ahmed, retired lecturer of DKD College and a member of the Sahitya Akademi from Asom and Ramkumar Krishak, a senior Hindi poet conducted two separate reading sessions during the meet.

The participating poets were Atanu Bhattacharjee, Hridayananda Gogoi, Jyotirekha Hazarika, Mrinal Kumar Gogoi, Ajit Gogoi, Gyan Puzari Bijay Rabidas, Ismail Hussain, Lutfa Hassim, Selima Begum, Monikuntala Bhattacherjee, Rajib Boruah, Nilima Thakuriya Haque (Asomiya poets), Romakanta Basumotari (Bodo), Bithi Chattopadhyay (Bengali), Shaket Azmir (Urdu) Amalendu Sekhar Pathak (Maithili), K Geeta (Telugu), KB Nepali (Nepali), S Lanchenba Meettei (Manipuri), Vikram Visaji (Kanada), Sanjukta Dasgupta.

Earlier, in the inaugural session, Bibekananda Sharmah, principal, JDSG College presided over the function. A Krisnamurti, secretary, Sahitya Akademi presented the welcome address. Sunil Gangopadhyay president, Sahitya Academi inaugurated the meet.

Dr Karabi Deka Hazarika, executive member of Sahitya Akademi and professor at the Assamese Department of Dibrugarh University highlighted the importance of the occasion that was held to mark the birth centenary of two famous Asomiya poets — Ganesh Gogoi and Ananda Chandra Boruah of Jorhat.

Bhupati Das, a senior poet released the souvenir Ankajali edited by Prof Gopikanda Saikia.

Ramkumar Mukhopadhyay, from the regional office of the Sahitya Akademi, Kolkata, offered the vote of thanks. The participants also visited the Kariranga National Park.

Kaushik Hazarika, Bokakhat

Author info

editor's picture

Please send your comments to

Add new comment


Republish this content

More Stories

Nominations filed for Nagaon Civic polls

17 Jul 2009 - 11:08am | Dibya J Borthakur
Altogether 314 candidates filed their nomination papers for the Nagaon Municipality Board elections as well as Town Committee seats at Dhing, Kampur, Raha, Lanka, Hojai, Dabaka and Lumding...

BSU honours toppers

22 Jun 2014 - 5:03pm | Hantigiri Narzary
The Bodoland Students Union (BSU) felicitated the first divion holder students including rank holders in HSLC examination conducted by SEBA/CBSE at a function held Bodofa Cultural complex in...

Manipur: NH-2 remains cut off after landslide

21 Sep 2017 - 9:10pm | AT News Imphal
A major landslide near Karong of the district has cut off Manipur’s supply-line through Nagaland. Torrential rain has hit normal life in most parts of Senapati. Flash floods and landslides wreaked...