Skip to content Skip to navigation

Dr Samujjal Bhattacharjya speaks at Sahitya Sabha seminar

Dr Samujjal Bhattacharjya Adviser AASU, addressing a national seminar at the Constitution Club, New Delhi organised by Assam Sahitya Sabha on the topic of Judgement on IMDT Act and implementation of Assam Accord on 14-03-08.

Pix by UB Photos.

Author info

editor's picture

Please send your comments to

Add new comment


Republish this content

3rd EMFA Media Awards announced

5 Dec 2012 - 1:48am | Nava Thakuria

The Electronic Media Forum Assam (EMFA) has announced 3rd EMFA Media Awards 2012 where television journalists and other employees will be honoured for their contributions. The award function will be organized in the last week of January 2013 in the city, where a senior journalist with national fame will be felicitated. Addressing a press meet at Guwahati Press Club today, the organizing committee of the award function also reiterated the date of submission for the entries in various sections on or before January 10 next. The entries must be telecast through the television channels within 1st January to December 31, 2012. The media persons are requested to send one entry for a category. The entries should reach office of EMFA, c/o Guwahati Press Club, Ambari, Guwahati-781001, Assam (Ph. 0361 2630963) by January 10, 2013. Each award will carry a trophy, a citation and a cash prize of Rs 10,000/-. The reporter and camera persons will awarded with equal share where applicable.

Entries are invited for categories of Best Voice Over (Male), Best Voice Over (Female), Best Video Editing Team, Best Graphic Team, Best Programme, Best Programme (Women Issues), Best Anchor (Male), Best Anchor (Female), Best Reporting on Sports, Best Reporting on Human Interested Story, Best Reporting on Development Issues, Best Reporting on Economic Issues, Best Reporting on Environment Issues, Best Reporting on Insurgency Issues, Best Investigative Reporting, Best Story of the Year.

The press meet was addressed by Pankaj Protim Bora, Debajit Talukder and Madhab Das.

The organizing committee for 3rd EMFA Media Awards 2012 includes Hemanta Hillol Saikia, Sunil Borah, Pankaj Protim Bora as conveners, Lalit Sarma as the coordinator, Mosumi Bora, Pankaj Dutta, Siddhartha Sankar Nath, Manoj Kumar Deka, Tanmoy Borkotoky in-charge of souvenir TARANGA, Debajit Talukder, Prasanta Mena, Agnibh Gogoi, Prabin Thakuria, Pranjal Sarma, Madhav Das, Manas Pratim Nath, Pranab Das, Pankaj Sarma as honorable members.

Centre not ready to release Daimary

13 Jun 2012 - 3:23am | editor

The Centre on Tuesday virtually ruled out immediate release of Ranjan Daimary to expedite the peace process with NDFB. The message surfaced when a delegation of the Bodo National Conference delegation met home ministry joint secretary Shambhu Sigh in New Delhi demanding release of the NDFB chairman to expedite peace process. But the Centre denied immediate release of the leader saying that efforts are to break the logjam. Talking to reporters, the BNC spokesman Khampa Borgoyari said that the meeting with the home ministry official was very comprehensive and productive and they were hopeful for release of Daimary.

Accidental firing jolts Itanagar

31 Jan 2008 - 11:32am | editor
An accidental firing rattled Itanagar early in the morning on Tursday. That too before the prime Minister’s maiden visit to the land of rising sun. According to information, a policeman on duty to guard a road through which Prime Minister motorcade was to pass, accidentally fired a bullet injuring a labourer. The injured labourer was being taken to the Guwahati hospital by the Chief Minister's helicopter.

The the bullet went off accidentally from the service revolver of an Indian Reserve Battalion constable while he was posted near the Indira Gandhi Park, the venue where the Prime Minister is scheduled to address a public meeting.