Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Electoral roll published in Kokrajhar

Deputy Commissiner and Returning Officer, Kokrajhar Thaneswar Malakar published the the draft electoral roll in constituecy wise at a meeting held at DC office conference hall today in Kokrajhar in the presence various party and organisation leaders under provision of Rule of 11 of the Bodoland Territorial Council(Election) Rules 2004.

He said that the district adminsitartion  have appointed five Assistant Returning Officer(ARO) and 20 appointed 20 officers to conduct free and fair electoral roll publication for five BTC constituencies under Kokrajhar Sadar sub-division in the district. He said the officers are directed to supuervis the functioning of designated officers and to provide necessary help,guidance etc as when required for prepartaion of error free electoral roll.The claims and objections received by thedesignted oficers against their polling station should be disposed off as per rule and prepare manuscript and submit to the election officer,Kokrajhar through theconcerned AROs within the time frame of Assam state election commission,he said.

He said that last date of receiving claims and objections is February 27,last date of disposal of claims and objection is March 6 and final publication of electoral is March 16 next.He said that over all 11.41 percent has increased in comparison to BTC election of 2010 in five constituencies,of which 2,19370 voters were recorded in 2010 BTC election while 2,47631 voters will franchise their votes in the ensuing council election(2015) in the five constituencies,Malakar added.

There are five constituencies under Kokrajhar Sadar sub-division includes 7-Fakiragram(Non ST) which has 67 polling stations for  60,593 voters(31,594 male and 28,999 female),9-Banargaon(ST) which has 56 polling station with 49,196 voters(Male-24230 and Female-24937),10-Debargaon(ST)  has 71 polling stations with 53001 voters(Male-26496 and Female-26505); 11-Baokhungri(ST) has 52 polling stations with 40,503 voters(Male-20389 and Female-20114) and 12-Salakati(ST)  has 57 polling stations with 44367 voters(Male-22573 and Female-21794).

Author info

Hantigiri Narzary's picture

Reporting from Kokrajhar

Add new comment


Republish this content

Random Stories

No bail for ACS-APS officers in jail

18 Dec 2017 - 1:16pm | AT News
GUWAHATI: The Gauhati High Court declined bail to 19 civil and police officers who were arrested in connection with the APSC scam. A High Court bench which reserved the ruling last week on Monday...

Campaigning for Phase II ends

21 Apr 2009 - 3:52am | editor
The electioneering for the remaining eleven Lok Sabha seats ends on Tuesday at 4 in the afternoon 48 hours before the commencement of the second phase of polling on Thursday.Speeches from fiery to...

PDMB reitarates Boroland issue

9 Sep 2016 - 4:21pm | AT Kokrajhar Bureau
Peoples Democratic Movement for Boroland (PDMB) has urged government of India to make amicable solution to the long standing demand of separate Bodoland state to initiate good governance and healthy...