Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Tea Mazdoor Congress Committee formed

The Assam Pradesh Tea & Ex-Tea Mazdoor Congress Committee had formed its new Udalguri district committee at a general meeting which was held at Tangla Congress Bhawan on Tuesday. The meeting was attended by former of state Jaman Singh Brahma, Rajya Sabha MP Santius Kujur, Bhergaon Block Congress President Khagen Boro, Tangla Block Congress President Manmohan Das and others along with 300 people of tea tribe community.

Speaking on the ocassion the Congress leaders  urged the tea tribe community to vote for the Congress in the coming Assembly election. They said that Congress have been providing  the Tea tribe community with many welfare schemes and there by helping their community. The leaders also said that BPF would have a hard time in the three assembly constituencies of Udalguri district namely Udalguri,Mazbat and Paneri. In the new District committee Sanjit Tanti was made the President while Simon Nag was made the Secretary, Bimon Mahato was made the General Secretary. The meeting came to an end with the vote of thanks offered by Santius Kujur Rajya Sabha MP of state.

Author info

Shajid Khan's picture

Recipient of The Annual Colosseum Awards 2014 & 2015 (by The Assam Tribune group), Shajid Khan is a journalist based in Tangla.In his stint of journalistic experience he has contributed numerous political, socio-political stories for bountiful national,international as well as Assam based publications. He also pens down analytic commentary on print and web based publications.

Add new comment


Republish this content

Random Stories

Protect indigenous people: Anup Chetia

21 Sep 2017 - 8:28am | AT Kokrajhar Bureau
ULFA general secretary Anup Chetiya has urged the government to ensure safety and security of the indigenous people in the state. Addressing a public convention in Kojrajhar on Wednesday, the former...

India: The Way Forward held

15 Dec 2013 - 9:31am | Rangman Das
A semnar titled India: The Way Forward  was held at Guwahati recently. The event emphasised the need to look at the way forward for India on all aspects that will take the nation ahead with the...

CM in China to study bamboo projects

15 May 2008 - 3:07am | editor
Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi is leaving for China on a seven-day official visit with a view to boosting commercial ties with the neighbouring country. According to information, Gogoi is set to...